The Guy on the Bus

The Guy on the Bus

She came through the door with her suitcase after that long ride on the bus. He hugged, we kissed and proceeded right to the bedroom.

Afterwards when she was unpacking I asked how was the trip. She said; “Long.” which of course I knew having done it so many times going in the opposite direction from my place to hers… “There was this guy’ she said “who sat next to me and proceeded to tell me his whole life story and assorted other things.”…”What did you do?”…”I listened and was sympathetic. What else can you do? Plus he was nice and seemed in need of a friend or someone to talk to. I also got the impression that he was quire lonely as well.”

We talked about it some more and then moved on to other things. Later on she asked me it that ever happened to me when I made the trip to see her. I told her no. I never had an attractive woman sit next to me and bare her heart and soul or anything else for that matter. Attractive women tend to sit by themselves if they can. And if the bus is crowded and one winds up sitting next to me she’s usually not much of a talker. And if she is it’s to tell me about her husband or boyfriend and how wonderful they are. Then I ventured the guess that the guy on the bus was probably trying to come on with her.

“But I was coming to see you so it wasn’t possible.” …”And if you weren’t’?”… “Then who knows? I’m as human as the next.” … “So you admit you were possibly interested.”…”Yes, but I was thinking about you all the time and what would happen once we got behind closed doors.”…”Then you know what?”…”What?”… “I’m glad you met that guy on the bus.”…”Why?”…”Because he probably didn’t know it. But he warmed you up good for me. If I knew where he was I would probably call and offer to buy him a drink.”

And that’s when she reached into her purse and took out a piece of paper. “Here is his number. He gave it to me just as I was leaving.”

-RD.

This entry was posted in General Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment